Department of Forests (DF)

Τμήμα Δασών (ΤΔ)

The Department of Forests (DF) belongs to the Ministry of Agriculture, Natural Resources and the Environment; it was founded in 1879 and is one of the oldest governmental Departments. The DF is the competent state authority for forests and forest issues and as such is responsible for administrating and managing state forests, which cover approximately 18% of Cyprus, as well as for implementing state forest policy and legislature throughout the Republic. 

DF personnel includes 35 Scientific staff members, 283 Technical staff members [total: 318] and 918 staff members on hourly wages, assigned at 28 forest stations throughout Cyprus. The average annual budget of the last 3 years was 38 million Euros. 

From an organizational point of view, the DF includes 5 Sectors with more than 10 specialised Branches, 3 Forest Districts (Paphos, Troodos and Nicosia-Larnaca-Ammochostos), the Flight Unit based in Larnaca and the Forest College of Prodromos.
The main activities and operations of the DF can be summarised as follows:

  1. Protecting Forests from fires, biotic factors and other threats
  2. Preserving and improving forests and green zones
  3. Implementation of forest legislature
  4. Protecting nature & biodiversity
  5. Environmental education and & information
  6. Providing forest recreation
  7. Forest surveying and forest lands
  8. Forest management & production
  9. European issues
  10. Forest research & education
  11. Forest Engineering

Apart from the above, the DF plays a significant role in activities related to biodiversity, such as flora, fauna, trees-monuments of nature, restoring degraded areas, managing Natura 2000 areas, drafting management plans, etc. In this context, it has implemented or participated in the implementation of a large number of co-funded programmes related to the preservation of biodiversity.

The DF owns/manages extensive, important infrastructure, such as three Centres for Environmental Information, three Botanical Gardens, one Herbarium, 4 forest nurseries, etc. 

The Department Headquarters are in Lefkosia, next to the building housing the Ministry of Agriculture, on Louki Akrita Street, at number 26, 1414, Agios Dometios. 

The contact information for the DF is:
Tel: +357 22805500 / 501
Fax: +357 22781419, 22805542